Information Exchange, Education, Outreach, and Networking
line decor
line decor


The South Florida Hydrologic Society is the brainchild of Chris Peters from CH2M HILL, Deerfield Beach. He proposed the idea to Mike Sukop of FIU and they enlisted the aid of Chris Langevin (USGS) and Jayantha (Obey) Obeysekera (South Florida Water Management District) at the 20th Salt Water Intrusion Meeting held in Naples Florida in June 2008. Neill Johnson of MWH Global joined the planning group soon after.

An inaugural meeting was held in February 2009 and subsequent meetings were held quarterly up to the present. Thirty to forty people representing a broad spectrum of the South Florida hydrologic community generally attend the meetings.

Crhis Peteres was the first president and served for 1 year. Mike Sukop was the second president, and was followed by Tara Root. Chuck Downer became president in 2014.


Injection Well




Consultants, Government agency employees, University faculty and students are welcome. List/Join.